Horse Races in Houston

derby.jpg

With the 2018 Triple Crown races just around the corner, I want to make it a point this year to cross off "See a Horse Race" off my Houston bucket list. I only know of Sam Houston Race Park (near Willowbrook) and Houston Polo Club (near Memorial Park). Here are some of the best events this Horse Racing season. 

There's opportunity for horse races every Sunday (HPC), Monday (SHRP), Friday (SHRP), and Saturday (SHRP). 

Houston Polo Club

Spring Season: Every Sunday Apr 1, 2018 - Jun 10, 2018

Sun Apr 1 - Bluebonnet Cup - 5:00PM
Sun Apr 8 - Van Conover Member Cup Final - 5:00PM
Sun Apr 15 - Spring Classic -  5:00PM
Sun Apr 22 - Officers Cup - 5:00PM
Sun Apr 29 - St. Regis Classic) - 5:00PM
Sun May 6 - Land Rover Houston Central Cup - 5:00PM
Sun May 13 - Ponies & Petals Cup (MOTHER'S DAY) 5:00PM
Sun May 20 - USPA Southwestern Regional Classic - 5:00PM
Sun May 27 - Milagro Cup - 5:00PM
Sun Jun 3 - Vaquero Classic - 6:00PM
Sun Jun 10 - Western Challenge Cup/ USPA NYTS Junior Tournament - 6:00PM

Get Tickets for 45% off using Groupon: 
https://www.groupon.com/deals/gl-houston-polo-club-10

Location: 8552 Memorial Dr, Houston, TX 77024
Visit: http://houstonpoloclub.com/

 

 @Michael Lewis

@Michael Lewis

 @Michael Lewis

@Michael Lewis

Sam Houston Race Park

Saturday, 3/31 — Dollar Days
Programs, Sodas, Coffee, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs, and Beer all just $1! Sponsored by US Army!

Every Friday, Starting 4/6
Every Friday night has 50¢ beer, $2 wine, and live Quarter Horse racing. 

Saturday, April 28: Pat Green + Horse Racing
Hear Texas-favorite Pat Green sing Wave On Wave & watch horses race. More info

Friday, May 4: May The Fourth Be With You- Star Wars Night
Dress up as your favorite character & watch horses race. 50 cent beers, and the first 1000 people get a free light saber.

Saturday, May 5: Kentucky Derby Day
Watch & wager on live horse racing. There's also a hat contest...so.. More info.

Location: 7575 North Sam Houston Pkwy W, Houston, Texas 77064
Find out more: https://www.shrp.com/events

derby.jpeg

 

Triple Crown Race Dates

And in case you missed it, here are the dates for the 2018 Triple Crown Races:

The Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs - May 5, 2018
The Preakness Stakes - Pimlico - May 19, 2018
The Belmont Stakes - Belmont Park - June 9, 2018